24th Annual Convocation

TAPMI's 24th Annual Convocation
TAPMI's 24th Annual Convocation

The sun shone brighter on April 3rd as the Class of 2010 received diplomas in the 24th Annual Convocation of TAPMI. The convocation was held on April 3rd 2010 at the Syndicate Bank’s Golden Jubilee Auditorium in Manipal. Smt.D.Purandeswari, Hon’ble Minister of State for Human Resource Development (Higher Education) graced the occasion with her august presence.  The Auditorium was vibrant with the presence of distinguished guests, invitiees, other dignitaries, graduating students and their proud parents. The class of 2010 saw 169 participants being awarded the Post Graduate Diploma in Management by the institute.

The convocation was flagged off by a welcome address by Dr.Simon George, Dean-Academics followed by a brief introduction of the Chief Guest by Dr.Vasudeva Rao, Dean-Administration. Later, Dr. Saji Gopinath, Director of TAPMI highlighted the significant initiatives and achievements of TAPMI in the academic year 2009-10. He spoke about TAPMI moving into a new 42-acre campus, the success of its first eGPX program along with NISG, and a stronger faculty with two-thirds of them holding a doctorate. The diplomas were then handed over to each of the graduating batch by Smt.Purandeswari, Dr.Ramdas Pai and Mr.Manish Sabharwal.

Mr. Manish Sabharwal, Chairman of TeamLease Services was the Guest of Honor for the occasion. In his thought provoking address, he emphasized the change that India has gone through in the last decade and encouraged the students to make the most of the current situation. He encouraged the students to adopt six virtues that he thought were the most important for the current generation to adopt – Think Big, Be Authentic, Recognize the power of luck and timing, Realize the power of teams, Play to win and Take more risk. Mr.Sabharwal also released the 2010 issue of TAPMI’s annual magazine ‘Update’.

The Hon’ble Minister delivered the convocation address, in which she highlighted the growth that India has undergone, and said that India is poised for a leap that has never been imagined before. Terming the 21st century as the Knowledge Century, she pointed out that knowledge is incomplete without innovation and encouraged the students to adopt innovation as a way of life. She provided the students with three real life examples of Dr. Verghese Kurien, Dr. E. Sreedharan and Dr. Ratan Tata, highlighting their achievements as eminent innovators.

She also advised the students to focus on the three TI’s: Think India, Team India and Total Innovation, to channelize the huge force of the Demographic Dividend that the country has towards helping the country to achieve its goal of removing the mismatch between the islands of excellence and sea of underdevelopment. She said that universities should produce innovators and not imitators, to realize the dreams of India. She ended the address with a quote by Mahatma Gandhi that reminded the audience to hold on to their roots at every stage of life.

In the felicitation ceremony that followed the convocation, the Hon’ble Minister gave away awards to those students who secured the top three ranks in academics :

1st Rank – Mr.Vivek Didwania

2nd Rank – Ms.Sholina Mukerji

3rd Rank – Mr.Dheeraj Agarwal, Mr.Nirav Jitendrakumar Vora

The coveted AgrEvo Student Award for overall achievement was won by Mr.Manish Mahnot while Mr.Priyank Daga received the first ever TAPMI Achiever Award. The Chairman of TAPMI Governing Council, Dr.Ramdas Pai released a Compendium of all the twenty four Memorial Lectures held annually over the past 25 years of TAPMI’s existence.

– Media & Public Relations Group


6 thoughts on “24th Annual Convocation

  1. Dear MIRC,
    You guys missed Priyank Daga’s name in the award list. As we all know he won the first ever TAPMI Achiever Award.

  2. Any amount of writing is not enough; I already wrote in my mail to TAPMI.ALL. Every one of the TAPMIans did their best; the UPDATE-2010 is different; we are proud to have released the Compendium of 27 TA Pai Memorial Lectures (including the one we had on 15th March); PGP 2008-10 was special that they witnessed both old and new campus; seen old and New Director; the biggest ever batch of TAPMI; it was the first Woman / Politician as Chief Guest – Mrs Purandeswari who spoke eloquently and extempore on contemporary issues; we also had a Guest of Honour who is a briliant Entrepreneur; TAPMI has really scaled up in organising twin events!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s